Composite Stringers

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
This topic comes up from time to time here on the forum. I found this YouTube video and thought everyone might enjoy it. I'm NOT a proponent of anything but Wood Stringers but this is to show you there are alternatives if you want to go that route. There are Pro's and Con's for everything and I'm sure of one thing...This video will probably get the discussion started. I only hope it remains Civil and we don't agree we can at least Agree to Disagree!!!!:D

tpenfield

Staff member
Re: Composite Stringers

"Wood" is in your iBoats handle, so why wouldn't you be a proponent of wood. :D

If I had to completely replace a boat's structural grid, then I would probably use a synthetic/composite material. For repair work, it is a matter of putting back what is there originally, and for the most part that is wood.

Nice video find.

friderday

Chief Petty Officer

Wow...horrible editing on video, but interesting topic/product. Wood, my next resto(hopefully next winter) is a boat that is mildly under-powered now, yet very light(17' Seaway, 48 evinrude spl. It needs transom, stringers, deck. One of my biggest concerns is that if I do it with wood as I have now done twice before, the sheer weight that it will add to this now pretty light vessel will make it unable to be powered efficiently by the current engine. So I have been looking into some lighter composite materials. I will be very interested in the conversation about this. Where/how much is stuff like this?

sphelps

Supreme Mariner

^^^^ Next resto ^^^^ ! Girl you are a resto machine ! :hail:
Seacast is lighter than plywood per sq inch . But way more $ ...