Possibly taking on a 93 kenner 21' cc. What's your opinion on the project and price?

Well this is my first post to the site and I have to say I am very impressed and intrigued in all the projects that I have seen on this forum. I've been looking at purchasing a center console boat that will be mainly be used for freshwater fishing with my son. My plan was to save up some money and possibly take out a small loan to get a boat but then this project boat popped up. From my research on this forum and my self taught fiberglass skills that was mainly automotive, I believe this may just be the perfect option for me. I will be going to check out the boat this afternoon and was wondering if I could get some ideas on what others thought and more specifically what I should be looking for and asking about this boat.

From what I know it is a 1993 kenner with a 1993 yamaha 200 outboard. For an unknown reason the seller decided to start to redo the deck of this boat. He said he was able to get the engine running and seemed to run well but would probably need a tune up. He didn't seem like he was an expert on boats in general, but then again, neither am I. I just figured for the rite price and some hard work, this is the boat for me. All of the steering, leaning post, etc is there.

Obviously I am going to try to haggle him a bit and he said he really just needs to get rid of the project. So hopefully that helps with dropping the price. Asking price on the boat, motor, trailer and a couple rolls of fiberglass and some resin is $1,800.00. Is this too good to be true? Am I wasting my time? Or is this quite possibly what I've been waiting for?

Thanks again for the awesome site and information.

IMG_2400.jpgIMG_4161.jpgIMG_7164.jpgIMG_7265.jpgIMG_8055.jpg

kjdunne

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Possibly taking on a 93 kenner 21' cc. What's your opinion on the project and pri