1972 Ranger Bass Boat inquiry...

Hello again. This is my second post so far and I received such quick responses on my first post I thought Id try again.
I recently got a 1972 16ft Ranger bass boat. Its in pretty good condition. Trailer is original to the boat. All the parts are there ( i think) My biggest concern is how and where to get information about the boat. Id like to make sure the items that I need to replace are at best compatible. Im missing some things that were bolted/screwed on to the top edges of the boat. I am missing the anchor (if they come with one). Most of my questions are somewhat general and generic. This is my first larger boat. I have no experience connecting or operating an outboard engine using a steering console so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. On that note if there are any books or such that could be recommended I would be appreciative for that as well. Basically anything to help me get the boat back to a working and fully functional state is my main focus. I figure it to be difficult to learn on defective equipment. Sorry for the ramble. I just wanted to make sure i cover all basis and paint a vivid picture of my inexperience. Thanks in advance for any all help/direction.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1972 Ranger Bass Boat inquiry...

No manuals for such things actually. This forum is the "Boat University" so ask what ever you need and the "Boat Professors" will be along to answer your questions. It's usually best to post pics of your boat so we all can see what you see and then give you the appropriate guidance.

WelcomeAboard.jpg

jbcurt00

Staff member

Lets start w/ some pix of your rig. And dive in to the resto forum threads.

You can gain valuable knowledge of general boat demo and putback/resto info going thru them. Go thru lots of them. It'll give you more then you'll ever want or need to know about 30+yr old boat rehab.

Don's list is a good resource too:
[h=3]How To's and Other Great Information[/h]