Hull damage on aluminum boat(how to repair)?

jamfav

Cadet
I have a 1989 spectrum fish and ski aluminum boat and I have had the hardest time figuring out why my boat leans to one side when i'm on plane. So I have noticed some large dents (not deep but makes almost a wavy look in the hull) about three in a row that the previous owner must have done.. My question is, is there anyway to get the dents out myself? They are closer to the front of the boat which would explain why it leans only after the boat planes off. Is there any way to heat it up and bang them out? or a dent puller? Any help would be appreciated.. Thanks

DeepBlue2010

Lieutenant
Re: Hull damage on aluminum boat(how to repair)?

I have no personal experience with aluminum boats but I am sure one of our resident experts will drop by shortly. My gut feel is it is defiantly possible and doable especially if you have access to the inside. Couple of thoughts though?
Are you sure this is the reason for the tilting you experience. It could be as simple as the weight is not distributed evenly between the two sides. Keep in mind the under deck weight as well (batteries, gas tank, water tank, etc)

Also you mentioned that the dents are close to the forward part of the boat, normally this part is completely out of the water when you are on plan!

jbcurt00

Staff member

Probably need to post some pix of the damage to get the best help.

There could be other reason the boat lists when not on plane. Does it float correctly fore & aft, port to starboard when not underway?

Having the motor off center could be the cause or was a failed attempt to correct list. Possibly it's off center to compensate for prop walk, I don't recall if the motor is to port or starboard of center.....