West System - Gel state, how soon for laminating

MercMark

Petty Officer 2nd Class
West system says that the epoxy will reach a "green state" or Gel state after pot life but before final cure. It says that you can reapply once it's in this state and it will chemically bond with the first coat. The longer into the gel state the less effective the chemical bond will be. <br /><br />They provide a graph of the cure times, but the graph has no units on it.<br /><br />If I'm using 5:1 fast, i think they call it the 105 hardener:<br />-when does the gel state start?<br />after the 20 min pot life?<br />after one or two hours?<br /><br />They describe the gel state as being like hard rubber. No longer tacky but you could dent it with your fingernail.

Pun

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: West System - Gel state, how soon for laminating

I'm no expert, but I think it's really going to depend on temperature and humidity in your workplace. I know that in my 70 degree shop that's fairly humid, it took about 10-12 hours to reach gel state. There are so many variables. Thickness of the resin, temp, humidity, accuracy of mix ratio, how well the product was mixed, etc. <br /><br />I think the fingernail test would be a good indicator and there is no rule on how long it's gonna take.

MercMark

Petty Officer 2nd Class

10-12 hours? you must have been using a slow hardener.<br /><br />West system claims solid state in 6-8 hours, which is the state after gel state according to their graph.

BillP

Captain

Like pun says...it depends on temp and humidity and whether it is in the pot or spread out on the glass. WEST probably has a temp that goes with your graph (many mfgs use 70F). Do the finger nail test and keep notes on temp, humidity and time. That will give benchmark for working times on future glassing. Remember, lower temps and higher humidity lengthen kick times. Hotter and drier is opposite.

MercMark

Petty Officer 2nd Class