1980 chrysler tri hull with 1986 Johnson outboard

Bee Reel

Cadet
Hello everybody! I am new to this forum and also new to boat restoration. I am a carpenter by trade so I am hoping that my skills can be honed towards fixing up this boat. This is my second boat, the first being a 15' flat bottom aluminum jon boat with a 7hp outboard. I purchased this boat a few months back for $400 along with the trailer off of Craig's list. The previous owner had restored the entire deck and all stringers along with a new transom. Seemed to be a sturdy boat so I decided to buy her. As you can see she is missing the windshields which is one of the projects I plan on tackling soon along with new wiring ( got a book on boat wiring) and the instillation of the outboard and controls. I found what I thought was a 1986 VRO 90hp Johnson off Craig's list for $700. Come to find out its really a 110hp with a 90hp cowl on it. I actually found this out when I looked up the model number online to order a new water impeller. The guy who sold me the motor also gave me a bunch of spare parts.(coils, stators, fuel pumps, starters, ect that he had been collecting over the last 30 years. Even came with gasket kits and a lower end for rebuilding later on. Motor runs strong and has what I've been told "good" compression of 100, 105, 105, 105 which I confirmed myself. I know some of you are shaking your heads about the large motor being put on a small boat. I've asked around quite a bit and have been told that there is only about a 50 pound difference between the 110hp and the 75hp it had on it when it was new. Also talked to the insurance company and they are fine with the increase and are willing to insure it just as long as the speed will be below 60mph. Also talked to a friend that works as a CG and he said that tri hull boats don't even require a max hp plate by law so not to worry. With that said, I am wondering if anyone has had any luck building and installing a custom windshield. Any ideas would