Beachcraft wood and glass restoration

rutanfam

Recruit
I bought a 1981 beachcraft 19 foot. V6 3.8liter OMC I/O. Motor is nice, but motor mounts had collapsed on previous owner.
I had the motor hoisted and placed on the deck of the boat. Cut the glass off of the motor mounts and found ver nice garden compost inside. I think there used to be 4x4s. Stringer were apparently plywood but are gone from at least the very back part of the hull. Bottom 8inches of the transom was mulch. The more I though about it the more I realized this would be a full boat restoration if I wanted it done right. I'm a teacher so I have the time this summer. Money is the big issue.

Here are my questions for everyone;
How do I get the engine out and into my garage. Garage roof is not tall or strong enough. Using a tree branch or a frame would leave the motor outside. Having a shop hoist it would leave it in my truck bed.
Second once I cut and grind out all existing wood and glass, what materials besides marine grade lumber do I use to glass it all back in. Any specific types of resin, glass mat, filler, epoxy, etc? Can I get the stuff from Home Depot or does it have to be marine specific?
Finally is there any possible way I can restore the back end (including the transom) then replace motor and then restore the rest of the deck? That's would make my life much easier.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    150 KB · Views: 0

81 Checkmate

Lieutenant
Re: Beachcraft wood and glass restoration

Welcome to iboats....you are at the right place for your boating needs.

Look in the adult only section at the top of this forum....it will have all your answers. If you decide to move forward then keep this thread going...by posting pictures/questions and all the experts will guide you along the way.

Good Luck!

rutanfam

Recruit