1996 southern skimmer deck/foam/stringer rebuild

joebarnes

Cadet
I am starting a project that I hope I'm capable finishing. I love reading the post on here and they have helped me with multiple engine problems in the past. I have already taken out a lot of foam that is all very saturated with water and will move on to redoing to the stringers after I finish with that. I would appreciate any help and advice a long the way as this is my first time taking on a project this large. I look forward to the work and more importantly the finished result of a good sound skiff that I will have for many years to come.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 5
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    145.2 KB · Views: 5

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1996 southern skimmer deck/foam/stringer rebuild

welcometoiBoats-1.jpg

Well your Transom is Shot!!!!:D
Post some pics of the entire boat so we can see what she looks like. Stringers look interesting. Not much there! Not familiar with this style of boat so I'll be interested in watching this one come together.

WelcomeAboard2-1.jpg

Last edited:

joebarnes

Cadet

image.jpg
I'm sorry, the picture with my transom in it before was just a piece of deck that I ripped up. I'm hoping my transom is solid. (Fingers crossed) this is the only picture I took this afternoon. I still have a fair amount of shoveling to do to get the rest of the wet foam out. I'll try to get some better pictures when I'm out there tomorrow. Any advice on removing the foam I can't get to with a shovel? Thanks for your help and interest!

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral

Looks like you're well on your way to a good resto!

A straight claw hammer works well fo getting foam out of tight places, and grinding the hull will get rid of any residue that stricks.

Hope for a sound transom, but be prepared for a rotten one.

joebarnes

Cadet