1960 15ft fiberglass Sea King restoration

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

I am new to iboats and recently acquired a 1960 15ft fiberglass Sea King runabout. The PO had it sitting outside for the whole winter (Wisconsin) and even though it was covered there was a decent amount of water/ice inside the boat. I brought it home and put it in my garage right away and cleaned it up. As the weather has been above freezing now I have removed ice and vacuumed out the water. I lifted the front of the boat to help things drain to back and out of the boat. Even though there was water in it I checked the hull and have found no water leaking out of the boat which is good. All the water is draining out of the drain hole in the transom. There is no carpet in the boat and the two bench seats I removed. Because of the water under the floor the floor itself seems a bit soft. Not terrible but something I want to look into. It looks as if the floor is fiberglassed with the wood underneath and stringers beneath that I am guessing. Here is where I need some help. Should I just continue to let the boat dry out and then see how the floor feels? Or should I tear it out and if so how do I do that as it is fiberglassed? I will post a few pictures and then take a few more to show you some better shots of the interior of the boat. Any suggestions or tips you could give me would be great. I'm a young guy and this is the first project boat I am working on. Thanks!
IMAG0097.jpgIMAG0099.jpgIMAG0100.jpgIMAG0101.jpg

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1960 15ft fiberglass Sea King restoration

Welcome to iBoats!
Love the Old Runabouts. Very similar to my Blue Flamingo!!
Did you get 2 for the price of one? What's the blue one next to her?
Lot's of good info in the First link in my signature below.

WelcomeAboard.jpg

brainula

Cadet

Your project sounds like mine.