Question on polyester resin and working temps.

JasonJ

Rear Admiral
Okay, I am stuck, but I have a few master plans. Its North Idaho, its cold. The question is, on a day that is 40 or 50 degrees, can I mix and apply the polyester resin, then tarp the hull firmly with a ceramic space heater to raise the temp and keep it warm, will it cure properly? Will mixing and applying at a cold temp and them immediatly raising the temp effect the curing process negatively? I know that epoxy can be used down to like 35 degrees or something, and that the colder temps just slow the curing process. Can polyester work similarly, or do I have to wait until the 60 degree minimum recommended by my shop? <br /><br />I am working out of my carport attached to my house. My other option is to close off the half-wall and the front of the carport (it is closed off at the rear with a full wall and a wall on the side that is 3.5 feet high). I could use tarps to close it off, and would need a heater that does not produce flame to warm the space, but I think it would be more difficult to maintain the temp for the full 24 hour cure time.<br /><br />Last option is to wait until April or May, but who wants to wait that long? I personally feel that my mix/apply/cover with tarp and heater idea would work, just due to the small space with good heat. I could tarp it, put the heater in, and see how warm it gets, and how quickly. Any insight is appreciated....

Bondo

Staff member
Re: Question on polyester resin and working temps.

Plan A, should work just fine.... you can also bump-up the hardener abit, in polyester... In epoxy this is a no-no... poly can be jacked, without problems... a salamander can be used to pre-heat your hull, then glass it, tarp it, then maintain the heat a couple hours with the ceramic heater.... pre-heating will make things "flow" alittle better.....

JasonJ

Rear Admiral

Thanks Bondo. Now to wait for a decent day....

wezie

Petty Officer 3rd Class