Rebuilding a rotten pontoon; replacing floor, console, seating and wiring.

Reici

Recruit
Hello Boat People! I purchased a 1992 Lowe 20' Pontoon (Family Series 200) with a Johnson 40 HP outboard. It was owned by an older gentleman who did not use it very often and then after he passed away, it was left sitting for many years. There was a lot of wood rot in the seats and console and though the motor looked as if it did not have many hours on it, it has starting issues. The bimini top got accidental ripped off in the moving process and one of the side rails got bent. I purchased this boat to use as a "down and dirty" fishing boat, (got rid of a cabin cruiser because it was too white and pretty for pulling up fish and cutting up bait on).

The plan is to strip it down and rebuild. I am not a mechanic but am very mechanically incline. I have done everything from rebuilding carburetors and a/c compressors to repairing electrical equipment, building shelves, repairing cabinetry and many other types of work (plumbing, HVAC and electrical) As the saying goes, I am a minor "jack of all trades, master of none"! Back to the plan......I have already purchased some replacement plywood for the decking, found some 11 ply marine grade on craigslist for the same price as the normal 7 ply from the local hardware store. Began disassembling a week ago. The console is my first challenge as I have never taken one apart before. My plan is to build a new one and rewire the entire boat. The current unit is very faded which makes the switches and buttons that no longer function, hard to identify.