Aluminum Boat Transom Repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

Packerjim

Recruit
Hi, I am new to iboats, but this looks like a great community and I am hoping I could get some assistance. I was given a 12? aluminum boat, and would like to use it to take my kids fishing. The problem, as you can see in the pics, is the wood on the back of the transom is rotted, and the boat leaks (no surprise). I have been reading in the forum here, and I think I know how to replace it, but am hoping for some clarification.

I plan to replace the wood with marine grade plywood. There is an aluminum transom, so the wood, I believe, is for added strength. I do not plan to reuse or replace the green vinyl, or whatever it is, cover that you can see folding over. From what I have read, I then need to coat with epoxy and paint it for UV protection, and replace the hardware with stainless steel, coated with a sealant. Am I close, or is there another way to go?

The depth of the ?pocket? that the wood would fit in on the back of the boat is 7/8 inch. Should I use 3/4 or 1 inch plywood, which would stick out a little?

Do I need to seal the seam between the edge of the wood and the boat, or concentrate on the seams inside the boat? If so, what kind of sealant should I use?

Thank you for any feedback you can provide.

Boat1.jpg

Boat2.jpg

jigngrub

Fleet Admiral
Re: Aluminum Boat Transom Repair

Can we see some pics of the inside of the boat at the transom?

I've never seen a tinny with the transom wood on the outside covered with whatever that is that is covering it.

As for the seam sealing, you should use Gluvit or Coat-it on the inside of the boat on the seams. Both of these are epoxy mixes as well and will need to be painted over for UV protection.

As for the plywood, recheck the dimension after you remove the rotten wood. More than likely the wood was 3/4" plywood and has swollen due to water absorbtion.

jasoutside

Supreme Mariner