fiberglass schedule for deck repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

Xoloski

Recruit
Hi, I am relatively new to boats.
I have a 1972 Formula that I am attempting to restore.
The floor was spongy so I removed it from the boat and found core rot in the fiberglass.
The deck board that I removed is roughly 28 inches wide by 8 feet long. I thought I could cup open the deck board, remove the rotted plywood, then refuberglass the new plywood back into the deck floor molded section. The following photos show the deck before, during, and after I cut the top section of fiberglass open and removed the plywood. I came out pretty clean.
deck top after wood removal 2  .jpg deck top before wood removal 2  .jpg deck top before wood removal 5  .jpg
I have a few questions:
1) The old plywood looks like it was 3/8 inch pine. I can't seem to find 3/8 marine plywood. Should I just use standard 3/8 plywood to replace the original or is there something better I should use?
2) After I size and install the plywood what order and what materal should be used to glass it into place?
I have read so many discussions that I am confussed. I was thinking:
a) ployester resin to waterproof the plywood and create a base for
b) 1.5 ounce chopped map, followed by
c) 18 ounce roving woven, then
d) repeat this once again, and finally
e) a top layer of mat.
So, that would be chopped mat, roving woven, chopped mat, roving woven, chopped mat.
I have no way of telling what was originally layed up.
Any advise or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.
Besides being new to boata, I am also new to working with fiberglass.
Thanks,

C ☠ dog

Recruit
1708 biaxal material and epoxy resin, is it compatible or will polyester resin work better: dissolving glue that binds materials?

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner
Buy some 3/8 CDX plywood and cut to fit. No one will see it and it is exterior grade. I would cut the hatch opening as well at this time.