1996 Cajun Fishmaster 2100CC restoration begun...

jcw74801

Seaman Apprentice
I got this old boat pretty cheap 5 years ago. It needed restored back then. It really needs it now. I brought the boat home to install a rebuilt powerhead and decided to deal with the nasty old carpet and seat cushions.

Before stripping:
deck-carpet.jpg side-carpet.jpg
I would like to eliminate the carpet but there may be too much work involved. Since the boat was carpeted from the factory the carpeted areas are unfinished and really rough. With a grinder and sander I easily removed the glue from the front deck. What I found was huge voids, pits, and general ugliness.

This is not damage. Just a huge void.
Bow.jpg

Rough, pitted surface AFTER sanding:
deck-pitting.jpg

The sides look pretty good under the glue:
side-glue.jpg

I've never done anything like this before. I'm just jumping in with both feet. After looking at the forward deck my first inclination was to go buy some carpet. And perhaps I should.

I'm trying to avoid carpet but don't want to bite off more than I can chew. Can I use some kind of fiberglass filler on the voids, pits, and defects, then sand and paint it? It's just a fishing boat and doesn't need to look perfect but I don't want it to look like crap either. At least new carpet looks good for a while.

I could use some advice on which way to go. Thanks, John.

Teamster

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1996 Cajun Fishmaster 2100CC restoration begun...

Have the transom and stringers been checked for rot???

jcw74801

Seaman Apprentice

Have the transom and stringers been checked for rot???

The floor and transom are solid so far as I can tell. The hull is in pretty good shape overall except for needing the usual 16-year freshening up :)

I did some more sanding of the rolled gunnel and, aside from needing some air pockets and defects filled, I think it would look great without carpet.

What kind of filler do I need?
Should it have fiberglass in it?