kenner fishin ski barge 19ft flats fisher restoration

jmorson

Cadet
I'm new to iboats and this my first post. Just wanted to start by saying, wow, this website is an unbelievable source of information especially for someone like myself who knows almost nothing about boat maintenance and repair. Anyways, I bought my first boat about a month ago. It's a 19ft kenner fishin' ski barge. Not sure the year it was built, but I won it on auction for $126. For the most part, the boat looks like it is probably gonna be a nightmare to get functional and back in the water. But, there are a few positives. First, I hardly paid anything for it, second, the trailer seems to be in great shape except for the hardware and electrical, and third and maybe most importantly? the hull seems to be in great shape. Other than that, I think it's a full rebuild. I've been reading about how to go about this on here and watching videos for the last month or so and decided it was time to get going. I'm not in any sort of rush. My goal is try and get this thing rebuilt and ready to go flounder fishing and crabbing in the back bays of south jersey by the time my son turns 3. He's 5 months right now so I have some time! But I'm posting on here because I'm going to need a lot of help and input.

All I know about the boat is that it was last run in 1995 in Texas! So, I'm guessing the motor is totally shot? I'm kind of holding out hope that I might be able to get it rebuilt because I definitely won't be able to afford a brand new 90hp motor. I know it has sat outside in the elements for the last 8 or 9 years. I know the deck is rotten because I can put my foot through it in a few spots. We'll see about the stringers I guess. And that's about all I know. More as I get into this and find more things wrong...