New wheelchair friendly tender pontoon boat

Dunaruna

Admiral
Hi all, it has been way too long since i have had a boating project but that is all about to change. My wife and I have a houseboat which we have enjoyed for many years and now we need a tender. My wife is in the middle of a cancer battle and she is now in a wheelchair 90% of the time. To make life a little easier for her, we need something that is wheelchair friendly. The project begins - It will be a custom built aluminium pontoon boat with 3 access gates (wide enough for a wheelchair or 4 wheel motorbike) and a 800 mm wide access plank, 3 metres long. The boat will be powered by a 30 hp EFI merc. All other fittings will be custom built as required such as seating and console.

Although i am proficient at welding aluminium, i am not an expert. With that in mind, i have employed the services of a friend who lives and breathes alloy welding. Together, last weekend we began the pontoons/floor. pontoon material is 5052 grade 4mm sheet aluminium rolled, welded and then a cover strap is tacked on (purely for aesthetics). Instead of compartments, we have chosen to use sealed 20 litre round plastic containers. Each pontoon has 10 containers. The bow is strengthened with 10mm tube for beaching abrasion and a small flare is installed for splash protection. The motor well will be a very basic wet bath made from 50 x 100 mm x 10 mm hollow section. In the pic below the motor well is not in it's final resting place.

DSCF1418.jpgDSCF1416.jpgDSCF1420.jpg

kodibass

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: New wheelchair friendly tender pontoon boat

Best wishes to you wife's recovery, Please keep us up-to-date on this project I want / need to do about the same, ps nice shop

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

That looks great. It should served you both just fine.

Funny thing about our friends from OZ but it looks upside down ;)

archbuilder

Vice Admiral