1969 Glasspar Tacoma Transom and Deck redo...

r16409

Seaman Apprentice
Hi,

Just bought boat and looking to replace the dry rotted transom, deck and rear stringers. I have some experience with Polyester Resin but none with marine epoxy. Read thru some awesome posts on G3/Glasspar transom/deck redo but having trouble with my material list. In the process of prepping transom, stringers and deck. The transom had 3 layers of 3/8'' Plywood which all came out and was pretty wet and dry-rotted. Someone had previously covered up the dry-rotted deck and I have removed the rear section and still working on forward section -- it appears that only the rear part of the stringers are damaged and the front part are all encapsulated in Fiberglass and very solid. I was going to attempt to remove the rear dryrotted part of the stringers and replace and tie in with an angle cut, (epoxy/glass). I have been chiseling and sanding the transom trying to remove all the remaining wood ,(I actually put a small hole thru the lower corner of the transom which is in one of the pictures attached). Does every last piece of wood need to be removed from the transom? There is a film of it and I am afraid of going to deep and breaking thru the outer shell again).

Here is how I was thinking this would go.

1) Remove all wood from transom, (as best as possible).
2) Prep and apply layer of 1708 Biaxial filling any voids with epoxy/filler.
3.) Set in first piece of 3/8' plywood with expxy/filer (thickened mix) and set outward curve in transom holding in place with board attached to stringer to maintain the curve, (double check the amount of curve via splash well which has the curve). Screw in from outer side with drywall screws/wood back plates.
4.) Apply 2nd and 3rd pieces the same way allowing to dry between. Cover outer last layer with 1708 and lay 3' tape around edges.