1967 Wellcraft 17ft Fishing Boat Floor Repair

BJD

Recruit
New Image.jpgHello everyone, I have been reading over alot of the restoration posts and i am extremely lucky to find this forum. Well lets start this out with i recently got given a 1967 wellcraft 17ft fiberglass boat. yep thats right free. hahahaha well nothing is free in this world ive found out.

I took this boat home it was in very bad shape. it had been sitting in the backyard uncovered for seven years. Needless to say i ripped the floor out and found the stringers were shot. took all five stringers out and now im trying to figure out how much fiberglass resin and matting i will need to do all five stringers and the floor would anyone be able to clue me in on this?

i have several pictures of my progress on my phone i am going to try and upload.

This is my first boat and boat project. I am a machinist by profession and have rebuilt from frame off a 1971 international 1310 dumptruck and a 1974 chevy 1 ton pickup just nevr a boat and thought how hard can it be. hahahaha

Any help with a formula to figure out the resin and mat quantity i would very much appreciate. thank you

Attachments

• New Image.jpg
    New Image.jpg
    79 KB · Views: 0
  • New Image2.jpg
    New Image2.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 0
  • New Image3.jpg
    New Image3.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 0
  • New Image4.jpg
    New Image4.jpg
    76.1 KB · Views: 0

BJD

Recruit
Re: 1967 Wellcraft 17ft Fishing Boat Floor Repair

Above is what i had and ran into below is the floor ripped out and the stringers gone.

Attachments

• 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    78.6 KB · Views: 0
  • 6.jpg
    6.jpg
    58 KB · Views: 0
  • 7.jpg
    7.jpg
    83.1 KB · Views: 0

ezmobee

Supreme Mariner

That's a really unique hull. Definitely worth the effort to fix up. Nice work on the tear out. (I'm not a glass guy so I'm only here for moral support :p)

rickryder

Commander

I would say you need to start here....http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=286013