Wrapping plywood with fiberglass

flamron

Petty Officer 2nd Class
How do you guys get the edges to lay down?

I'm having some trouble with it and would love some tips.

Pics:

74f97cfe.jpg

That is the bottom of the piece. I'm having issues with the edges mostly.

I'm a total glass newbie, so anything would help.

Thanks guys,

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Re: Wrapping plywood with fiberglass

What is it you plan to do with these pieces of plywood?

Glass does not wrap around square edges, so you need to use a router and put a nice radius on anything you want to wrap, but even then it may not be easy to do.

Do one side at a time and then come back and wrap the edges later with strips of mat.

flamron

Petty Officer 2nd Class

These are flanges that are going under the deck to patch. I wasn't too worried about their looks, but I do want to get a good seal on the larger board.

Here is my last attempt:
66a04d5a.jpg

It is better, but I'm still bubbling the edges a bit. Not sure if that is critical or not (I assume it is important to not bubble up).

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner

The mat looks too wet, with too much resin it will start to fall apart and be difficult to control, use only enough resin to wet out the glass.

Pre-wet the wood with resin, let it get hard, or least starting to gel, then do the glass work.

flamron

Petty Officer 2nd Class

That would sound about right I'd guess. It feels like it is taking a lot of resin to make the fiberglass "disappear". I read that in the DIY as long as the glass disappears, you are good.

I've got a couple more boards to do today - the heat will be my limiting factor today for the afternoon with 90+ temps.

I'll try using less resin on these and see how that works, along with the prewetting/setting up and see how it goes.

Thanks ondarvr!

maagee79

Petty Officer 2nd Class

u need to make sure u get all of the air pockets out of it before it drys. i see u have a lot of trapped air. what r u using the glassed boards for?