1988 IMP Windshield Restoration or replacement

ChrstphrJrsz

Recruit
HI,

I have a 1988 IMP that I've been restoring for awhile now. This is my first boat and I can definitely say I am a novice at this stuff. Right now I want to replace the windshield. My questions are as follows:
a. How do i remove the windshield.
b. Can I just buy a new windshield or do I have to restore the old one. Apparently, the manufacturer of my boat is no longer in existence.
c. What type of paint do I have to use?
d. Where do I get all the materials I need in order to complete this job?
e. Exactly what do I need in order to get this done?
f. Are there any other things i should consider before embarking on this endeavor?

All replies would be sincerely appreciated.

Many Thanks,

Chris

25thmustang

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1988 IMP Windshield Restoration or replacement

I also had a 1988 IMP. To remove the windshield I recall it being screwed from the outside. Along the whole base where the windshield mounts to the boat there was a black, plastic cover. This cover pries out, and reveals screws. Unscrew it completely, and if you have a windshield mounted anchor light, remember to disconnect this prior, as it needs to come off with the windshield.

The windshield off my IMP seemed like it could be easily made. No complex angles or curves that I saw. If yours is in fair shape, I would recommend refinishing it. It might be possible to remove the glass and possibly have it coated. If the glass is shot, once again being no curves a good glass shop could make new pieces.

One last note, at least with mine, this is a HEAVY item and needed to come off the boat in one complete set up (sides and fronts all together). I think the front and sides do come apart from each other, but when I initially removed it, it came as one.

What model boat do you have? Mine was a 27' Liberty model.

ChrstphrJrsz

Recruit

25thmustang,

Thanks for helpful insights. I have a few more questions: