Free C-list Project: 1959 12' Aluminum, Mercury outboard...lots of pics

Status
Not open for further replies.

wyliek

Cadet
Hello iboats, I am a gear head type but I am new to boats, looking for advice and just showing off a kick *** project... I recently got a boat from a guy my dad knows through antique Citroen cars they both own, every time my dad saw it in the yard he would mention how cool it was, last week his friend told him he was going to give it away on c-list - it had been sitting in his yard since 1996

History
59'/60' - purchased new
64'65' - last season in water
90' brought back to life and painted
96' last season in the water, boat uncovered in backyard, motor in the basement
2011' - towed out of yard.....

The Boat:
12' riveted aluminum sheet, wood seats
Elgin Steering wheel - cable steering,
Kiekhaefer Mercury Mark 28A outboard with remote shifter/throttle

2011-04-03_13-42-45_459.jpg
[/IMG]

This emblem reads: "Mitchell Industries Dolphin Outboard Boat Patented 638 Parker St Machester Conn"

2011-04-03_13-42-54_355.jpg

2011-04-03_13-43-03_941.jpg

Mercury Mark 28A and homebuilt engine stand

2011-04-03_13-41-14_263.jpg

Motor is in excellent condition, the only problem so far is a broken recoil starter spring and tabbed washer

2011-04-03_13-57-07_5.jpg

After removing all the hardware and rinsing the leaves mold and turds out

2011-04-05_14-49-48_377.jpg

My plans are: Polished exterior, new transom boards, new seat boards, new hardware all around, WWII bomber styling and paint (shark teeth, black/silver, etc), I hope to refurbish the Elkin steering wheel (it matches the engine emblem)

Next step is thorough cleaning and polishing. What are some ways I can protect the aluminum after I polish it? Clear coat? Wax? I plan on polishing the entire boat but the transom, bonnet and front hull will have paint - how will this change the method to cover it?