epoxy resin for pontoon deck?

d4ster3

Recruit
hey guys, newbie here, cant seem to find a straight answer... im redecking a 28ft playbuoy pontoon. after reading through pages of threads I think ive decided to use treated plywood instead of marine plywood. only thing I cant seem to find is which epoxy resin to use and where to buy it. or is there something else I should use to seal it? thanks

Bondo

Staff member
Re: epoxy resin for pontoon deck?

Ayuh,... Welcome Aboard,...

I hear PT plywood reacts with aluminum in a Bad way...
And,...
Epoxy is probably overkill, 'n Overly Expensive for what your doin'...
I'd recommend goin' with Polyester resin, 'n glass mat for waterproofin' it...

d4ster3

Recruit

so dont use treated plywood? use marine?

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner

Well, you can use Marine, but it is VERY expensive. Most guys on here use Regular Ext. Grade Ply. It uses the Same glue as Marine grade. Only diff is it has some VOIDs in the ply's. I'd recommend using polyester resin and use 1.5 oz mat on the underside then another 1.5 oz mat on the top side then finish it off with a layer of 1708 Biax cloth. I think the BEST place to get your materials is here...

www.uscomposites.com

I'd use the 435 resin. Buy the PUMPS. Get a Bubble roller. Pay close attention to sealing the edges of the plywood. Seal any and all HOLES that you put in the wood. Buy some wax for the final layer. Use Safety Equipment i.e. Respirator Tyvek suit, goggles, gloves etc... Do dry lay ups first. Get a friend to help. Drink Beer. Have fun.

Use this to help you figure out how much you'll need

http://www.fiberglasssite.com/servlet/the-68/Fiberglass-Information,-and-How/Detail

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Another case of over thinking things...

Whatever wood you will use for your toon deck ( PT,MG or EX ) will be sealed..so I dont know where the contact of said wood would be on your alum frame.