Converting chrysler 25hp from tiller to cable control help

mxfreak117

Cadet
I'm extremely new at boating and boat repairs. But any help on the topic would be appreciated. I own a 14ft aluminum starcraft boat with what i believe is a 1983 (model 252h3g) chrysler 25hp tiller controlled outboard. i would like to convert it from tiller to cable driven or possibly remote steering. Which leads me to my question, first of all what would be the easiest and cheapest conversion to do, and what would i need to do the conversion? I have seen different types of conversion kits, but am unsure of which ones would work for me, if any. Thanks a lot

geedubcpa

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Converting chrysler 25hp from tiller to cable control help

I converted my johnson from tiller to remote steering and control -

You have 3 systems -

1) that is for the steering, you can find used steering systems fairly cheap on craigslist - Alot of junk boats have perfectly good steering systems.

2) You need controls specific to your motor - search craigs list and ebay for those controls -

3) You also need to convert the tiller to remote control - this is a kit - you remove the tiller and put the replacement kit on and then the controls and the steering system can link up to the motor.

For my johnson motor it cost 200 dollars for the kit parts, and I already had the steering and controls. It can get a little pricey, but if you search ebay and craigs list enough you can get the parts cheaper.

jbjennings

Captain

Since your Chrysler wasn't the best motor ever built to start with (just my opinion), and because it's most likely pretty difficult to find parts for, I'd run it like it is for a while. All that time, I'd be looking for a good used motor that has controls and such to add to your boat to get it like you want it.