1972 Appleby Bass Boat Restore

Status
Not open for further replies.

panfisher

Cadet
Hey everyone,
So it is my first time posting and ever restoring a boat. My grandfather bought me this 14' fiberglass boat and remodled it, the only problem is that he forget to restore the floor. You can imagine what 38 years of wear and tear can do. So I have ripped out the floor and am going to place new stringers and floor onto the boat, then fiberglass it (4 layers) to seal it. But before I do the floor, I have a question....If I want to convert my 25 HP Evinrude tiller motor to a remote steering motor, where should I place the steering cable, does it need to go under the floor?

I will write back tomorrow with the year and serial number to my motor (as I do not know them). Also, I will post pictures of the boat with the floors removed and a picture of the motor. I am looking to either buy or make a console, so I want this to be a wheel steered craft, not stick steered. Thanks!

Last edited:

osborn159

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1972 Appleby Bass Boat Restore

welcome to the crazy dust covered world of boat rehab, glad you joined us, you may want to resonsider 4 layers of glass that may be a little much depending on what your usin.
no you dont have to run your cables and wiring under deck, im using a peice out of a carolina skiff that covers them and mounts on top of the deck, kinda like a piece of wire moulding only made out of f/g.
as far as your console you can make or buy new or salvaged, most of my parts come from hurricane dammaged carolina skiffs console, livewell/baitwell deck, and that cable cover just had a few touch ups on the deck.
one of the f/g guys will prob steer you onto how much glass to use on the stringers and floor, that stuff is heavy more is not always better.
good luck, looking fwd to the pics

panfisher

Cadet