Famous Last Words... Here we go!

showstoppr88

Seaman
Hi all,

I am new to boating and this forum. I am pretty handy am an avid DIYer around the house and with my cars, always wanted a boat never had much money for one though hmmm.... :)

I bought a 1990 Raven Boatworks 21ft open bow I/O with a 5.7L Mercruiser engine with an alpha one outboard (is this a good setup??)

I know the floor is gone in the boat the port side (go me I didnt say passenger side) is SOFT while starboard appears at first glance to be solid. AKA I know I am ripping up this floor. I have watched frisco boaters videos and I feel confident enough to tackle the job knowing I will be back here asking a few hundred more questions as I go along.

My first question is prep for this job as far as materials go. I have this lovely holiday of Christmas coming up and I was thinking of asking for the materials I need to get started. I have no idea where to begin on what type of fiberglass to get, resin, epoxies etc for building the floor back up. If someone could help me get started with a shopping list (specifc) I would really appreciate it. I have Zero experience working with fiberglass so any supporting tools like mixing buckets, rollers I would need as part of this list.

I am excited to get this thing tackled and get this boat back up to being on the lake again. I have already tore out the old carpet and interior, next is to bring up the old deck which will be VERY easy the old owner "replaced" it before so its basically just laying on top of the rotted stringers. I know I need to check the transom too but will do that when the floor is out seems like that would be easier and make sense.

Look forward to hearing and getting some help from you all, thanks!!

-Dave

Scott Danforth

Grumpy Vintage Moderator still playing with boats
Staff member