is it worth replacing transom

Crazydawgs29@gmail.com

Seaman Apprentice
I picked up a 1985 24 foot Thompson with a mercruiser 5.0. Picked it up for $350 well the transom is soft to soft for my liking. The boat is in great shape. Interior is amazing floor is new motor and out drive are flawless. Trailer is a 2000 load rite and it's also in amazing shape as well.

I've never done a transom before but have spent several days researching it and watching videos and it doesn't look to hard. Is it worth putting the money into?

Attachments

• photo268387.jpg
    photo268387.jpg
    37.9 KB · Views: 8
  • photo268388.jpg
    photo268388.jpg
    29.7 KB · Views: 8
  • photo268389.jpg
    photo268389.jpg
    35 KB · Views: 8

Chaser 32

Seaman Apprentice
If your transom is not solid, I would definately replace it. It maybe a pain, but so is a sunk boat.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
If it runs well and you like the boat then by all means it's worth it. However, You should be aware that most boats of this vintage with a bad transom will also have major issues with the stringers and Bulkheads. You more than likely will be looking at a total rebuild which would costs between 2-4K. and a lot of Hot Itchy man hours.

JASinIL2006

Vice Admiral
If you've watched some videos and read a few restoration threads here on iboats, you should have a pretty good idea of what you're getting into. It does cost some money and parts of the job aren't too pleasant (namely, grinding out old fiberglass), but it's also very rewarding and you will gain an intimate knowledge of your boat. Assuming you can complete the work, you also will have a really well-built, like-new (or better than new) boat for a fraction of the cost.

But Woodonglass knows what he's talking about. If your transom is bad, you're likely to find more bad stuff below the deck. Just be ready.