88 Sunray- Deck Transom and Stringers oh my!!

Jbasham

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hey guys Newbie here love this forum! I have a 1988 Sunray 19ft open bow 305/OMC Cobra.

So long story short Ive owned this boat for 8 years and it has been an awesome family boat! 2 years ago we got caught in a storm at Lake Mead and hit rocks. The damage was contained to about a 6ft section of the keel (or so I thought). Insurance paid to repair the damage to the tune of about $3500. It has always taken on water but since the accident I noticed that it started taking on even more. Well I found that the Starboard strake had about a 3ft long hairline crack. Plan of attack was to cut out a small section of the deck to get at the crack from the inside and then patch the floor up... Sounds good right???

Well when I cut the floor open there was no wood. Only a few layers of glass remained. Soooo now i was going to replace the whole deck as most of it has rotted away. Fast forward a year and here we are. I managed to cut out the whole deck and only went through the bottom of the hull once for about 4 inches...EEEEK!! I was hoping to leave the engine in place but no go. The deck sits on top of the stringers under the motor mounts and the only way to do the deck right was to pull the engine. So on SAturday I pulled it. One thing led to another and led to another and now Im replacing the Transom and possibly full stringers as well. The whole lower half of the Transom was rotted and at least the first 4ft of the stringers as well.

I just picked up 20 yds of 1.5oz CSM, 10 yds 1708, 5 gal of polyester resin and a bunch of supplies. I know ill probably need more but I bought all this with intentions of only doing the crack repair and a new deck.

I have limited glass experience but I am highly mechanically inclined, have done a ton of research, and Im willing to do the repairs; so here we go.

Last edited:

Grub54891

Vice Admiral