Nose Job (Not Kardashian Related)

LeonWaldo

Cadet
OK I'm going to attempt to repair my bow nose damage this weekend, I have watched a few videos on the YouTube and I think I can do this! This is my first try at this kind of repair so any friendly tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG953591.jpg
    IMG953591.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG953591.jpg
    IMG953591.jpg
    44.9 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG953589.jpg
    IMG953589.jpg
    60.7 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG953590.jpg
    IMG953590.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 0

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Can you get to the inside at all? If you could put even a small amount of glass on the inside then you can grind off the damaged glass an still have a base layer to build off of. Even just a blob of putty could work.

Other than that, just grind off the ugly stuff, rebuild it back up in layers, then grind it back down into the right shape. It will take a bit time to get the shape right, but shouldn't be too hard.

Mikeopsycho

Senior Chief Petty Officer
Wow, that's quite the dock rash! :faint2: You don't have to answer, but I'm curious, how'd that happen? Good luck with your repair! I'm betting you'll do fine, especially with guys like ondarvr here to help. :)

LeonWaldo

Cadet
LOL, not my rash. I bought the boat with the broken nose. The rest of the vessel is in great shape.

gm280

Supreme Mariner
Leon, Not totaled, but there is some work ahead of you. I think you may even need to remove or at least loosen up the rub rails on both side to get to the damaged material to grind it all out. You first need to grind away all the damaged material and hopefully get to some quality base material before going through the hull. If not, you will have to play it by ear as you rebuild.