these cracks are driving me nuts !!!!

bryceman2712

Petty Officer 3rd Class
ok so i just bought my first boat Sunday. It is a 1992 Century Mustang and even tho it is in nice shape it has these small cracks around the top side in many locations. I like to learn new stuff and have always wanted to learn fiberglass so after watching many videos online about repairing fiberglass I have the general idea of how it works. My concern is with the age of the boat it is kind of a pale or chalky white and if I open these cracks up and fill them in even using a white gel coat will I need to repaint or re gel coat the entire boat to hide the repairs? or would a simple cut a buff hide the repairs along with bringing the original white back to new? what options do I have here or should I just leave well enough alone and enjoy the boat for a year or two then upgrade to something younger? Thanks for your thoughts. will post pictures shortly.

poconojoe

Lieutenant Commander
I'm not an expert on this subject, but I think you will have a very hard time matching the color of your gel coat. I would leave it alone as long as it's just superficial.

bryceman2712

Petty Officer 3rd Class
some reason it will not let me post pics. keeps saying photo exceeds the limit of so many bytes

fhhuber

Lieutenant
Gel coat cracks are from fiberglass flexing. You will never cure the cracking without preventing flexing. This may or may not be possible.

The Corvette Stingray fiberglass bodies were known for having the issue. No one ever found a way to prevent it other than to find perfectly smooth roads. Hit potholes and you could guarantee it would eventually crack the gel coat...

Boats tend to be a bit stiffer and not crack as "reliably" without having structural issues. But this doesn't mean its due to something needing repair (wood rot). Your hull may just have a little more flex than most. Or it may be ready to fall apart... SOME flexing is normal. Fiberglass either bends a bit or it shatters.