boat build, 197* tri hull bass boat to cc conversion

solareclpse2000

Seaman Apprentice
Ok guys, so i have been around, owned and operated boats for pretty much my whole life. Far back as i can remember anyways. But, as for building and creation im pretty new to it. I know how to lay glass, and the general concept, but an expert i am not. I have this 1970 ish....i wana say a 73 or 75, but cant remember exactly...... 15 ft sport fleet tri hull bass boat. Its a small, cheap built bass boat that i want to completely rebuild and convert to a center console for my sons first boat. Its a project for him and i to build into his first skiff. The goal is a CC for real skinny water, but still practical for bass fishing in some lakes round here. We live on the coast in se GA. So we have tons of grass flats, intercoastal water ways, coastal jetties and such. I also plan to set up the outboard with as little work possible to mount/demount, so that if he wants to fish some of the local bass lakes here he can use the same boat by pulling the out board and going electric with trolling motors.... the only bass lakes round here within a 2 hour drive are electric motor only.

solareclpse2000

Seaman Apprentice
Sorry, i hit post by mistake, better to break this up anyways i think. So i got my work cut out for me i know. I have a general idea of how im going to lay out the deck i think, but i have some pretty general questions. Im thinking about running a 40hp outboard, though a 25 would do, i want a little more umph in it, is 40hp seriously over powering a boat this size though?