Glue or Not

Trains1938

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hi, I am beefing my transom up on my 1968 Glastron boat. Do you think I should some glue/sealant on the aluminum that I am going to use? The pieces I am going to use are 45"x4" and 45" x 20". Or can use just bolts with some sealant on them. Both pieces will be above the water line.

MTboatguy

Fleet Admiral
Why are you beefing the transom up? Does it have damage? It is going to be tough to get anyone here advising you how to beef a transom up, especially if it needs to be repaired.

NAT1VE

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Does not sound safe if you plan on mounting a larger HP motor on it. What does the boat have on it now, and the hulls Max. HP rating? Post some pictures if you can or elaborate.

I am by no means an expert, but common sense tells me that if your transom is only rated for say a "70hp" and you want to mount a 85hp or Larger. Putting some added support like aluminum or a sheet of plywood on top of the existing transom to"Beef it up" is a recipe for disaster. Especially if the existing transom is old and has never been replaced. Just my $.02

Last edited:

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner
Yup, typically, transoms either need to be replaced or they just need some minor cosmetic repairs. If you're "Beefing" it up due to major Flexing issues then it's NOT advisable or safe to do!!!!:eek::nono:

Tnstratofam

Commander
If it is the same boat from your other thread it is a really bad idea to try and beef up an allready compromised/soft transom. As was pointed out by several knowledgeable members. Not a good idea at all.

Woodonglass

Supreme Mariner