Advise, Encourage or just Laugh

TotalNoob

Recruit
DISCLAIMER: Although we live in Michigan, my husband and I have no experience with boats at all!

A couple of years ago, we bought a Radisson canoe and found that we really enjoyed being on the water, fishing, etc, but put a ten year old, two adults, giant battery for the trolling motor, fishing gear, life jackets and a small cooler in there, and it's just ridiculous. We discussed buying a used bass boat, however we decided to wait a year or two because we are in the middle of an expensive remodel right now. Through chance two days ago I came across this gem for next to nothing, and brought it home as a surprise birthday gift for my dh.

Boat2.jpg

After a lot of online researching, I believe it's a 1970 'Scamp', by Geneva Boats (14'), and the motor is a 1959 Johnson Super SeaHorse 35 hp.
The motor needs some minor work, and we are dealing with those issues as I type, but some input on the boat itself would be much appreciated.

We yanked the carpet out and sure enough, the fiberglass deck has a lot of cracks, which leads me to believe that the stringers need to be replaced. We haven't ruled out doing this, but it's not something that we have the time or cash for right now. Our temporary solution is to patch the existing cracks in the floor to prevent further damage, lay a piece of treated plywood down and attach the seats to that. Is this a terrible idea?

Attachments

• Boat2.jpg
    Boat2.jpg
    57 KB · Views: 0

Bondo

Staff member
Our temporary solution is to patch the existing cracks in the floor to prevent further damage, lay a piece of treated plywood down and attach the seats to that. Is this a terrible idea?

Ayuh,..... Probably,..... Though I've seen worse done,....

Welcome Aboard,..... It'll get ya on the water, just make sure ya got yer safety equipment, like Pfd's,....

Yer probably gonna be on smaller inland lakes, 'n ponds,..??

Post up some pictures of the decks, 'n other trouble spots,....