Please note this thread has been inactive for 90 days. For the best results, please start a new thread.
    Petty Officer 1st Class

Question Costco Marine Battery

Looking to buy a replacement battery for my boat, the one that went dead was a "Ever Start" marine battery from Wal-Mart that only lasted 2years of light-duty use. Checking out the Kirkland brand from costco. Does anybody have a opinion?? bad or good??
    Thanks for any replys

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Default Re: Costco Marine Battery

I haven't tried their batteries yet but that is where I plan on getting mine if needed in the future because Costco always stands behind what they sell so far & I have been a member as long as they have been in my area.
    Everyone has an opinion & this is just mine sorry if it offends anyone.

I am a Newbie so please be nice.

Tow Vehicle is Land Rover when we tow that is.
    1996 Ebbtide Mystique 2100 (The Wet Bear)
    Mercruiser 5.7L w/ Mercruiser Alpha 1 Gen 2
    14 1/8 19p SS Prop
    Tennessee Trailer designed for Ebbtide

Petty Officer 1st Class

see who actually manufactures the battery, there are many different brands but only a few manufacturers, you will see the actual manufacturer in the fine print on the label. Look for "johnson controls" or "exide" both good manufacturers.

I was going to say, there are very few companies that actually manufacture batteries in this country, I have always had good luck with Costco batteries, and would not hesitate to purchase another one..

Just did a search and found that Costco batteries are made by Johnson Controls, the same place that makes the Wal-Mart battery, the article also said that Interstate doesn't actaully make batteries, they just sell them and they too are made by Johnson Controls.

http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...tml#post519800

Sort of interesting read.
    GO IRISH!!!!

Petty Officer 1st Class

yep, thats right. Johnson Controls makes a good battery.

Petty Officer 1st Class